Upcoming Events

Fall 2017 Events

All events held from Noon-1pm are considered "Lunch and Learn" events. Please bring your own lunch and learn with us!

August

New Graduate Student Orientation
Friday, August 18
8:30AM - 4:00PM
Hasselmann Alumni Center

GRE Test Prep Workshop
Monday, August 28
6:00PM-9:00PM
Norwood 208
*Students attending this workshop must register in advance*

_______

September

5 Crucial Things to Remember About Networking +
Tuesday, September 5
Norwood 305

Editing Your Own Work
Wednesday, September 6
Noon-1:00PM
Centennial 103

Mastering the GTA Experience
Friday, September 8
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 208

How to do a Literature Review*
Tuesday, September 12
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Broader Impacts
Thursday, September 14
Noon-2:00PM
Havener, St. Pats C.
*Students attending this workshop are asked to register in advance*

3 Minute Thesis (3MT) Orientation Sessions
Monday, September 18
Noon-1:00PM
Toomey 140

Tuesday, September 19
4:00PM-5:00PM
Toomey 140

EndNote Basics*
Tuesday, September 19
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Learning About LaTeX
Thursday, September 21
Noon-1:00PM
Butler Carlton 316

Mini Thesis/Dissertation Boot Camp
Friday, September 22
9:00AM-4:00PM
Toomey 140

Mendeley Basics*
Tuesday, September 26
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here
_______

october

How to do a Literature Review*
Tuesday, October 3
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Write-In
Wednesday, October 4
10:00AM-1:00PM
Library 203

EndNote Basics*
Tuesday, October 10
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Etiquette Dinner +
Wednesday, October 12
5:00PM-7:00PM
Havener Center, St Pats Ballroom

3 Minute Thesis Preliminary and Semi-Final Rounds
Tuesday, October 17
1:00PM-3:30PM
Havener Center

Mendeley Basics*
Tuesday, October 17
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Formatting in MS Word
Wednesday, October 18
Noon-1:00PM
Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) Building, 102

Scholarly Publications*
Wednesday, October 18
6:00PM-7:00PM
Library 103
Register Here

Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)
Thursday, October 19
Noon-1:00PM
Location TBD

3 Minute Thesis Final Round
Wednesday, October 19
4:00PM
Havener Center

Academic Writing Skills for ESL Graduate Students
Friday, October 20
Noon-1:00PM
Location TBD

GRE Test Prep Workshop
Monday, October 23
6:00PM-9:00PM
Norwood 208
*Students attending this workshop must register in advance*

What About Grad School?
Tuesday, October 24
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 305

Formatting and Submitting Your Thesis/Dissertation
Wednesday, October 25
10:00AM-Noon
Meramec/Gasconade, Havener Center

What About Grad School?
Wednesday, October 25
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 305

What About Grad School?
Thursday, October 26
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 305

Graduate Family Halloween Party
Friday, October 27
1:00PM-4:00PM
The Puck and Lawn

 _______

november

Proofreading with Grammarly
Wednesday, November 1
Noon-1:00PM
Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) 202

Values, Morals, and Ethics
Thursday, November 2
Noon-1:00PM
Comp Sci 202

Creating a CV
Monday, November 6
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 305

Bridging the Communication Gap
Thursday, November 9
Noon-1:00PM
Comp Sci 202

Writing Workshop: Parts of Speech
Wednesday, November 15
Noon-1:00PM
Centennial 103

Values, Morals, and Ethics
Thursday, November 16
Noon-1:00PM
Comp Sci 202

Learning about iThenticate
Wednesday, November 29
2:00PM-3:00PM
Location TBD

_______

december

Interviewing in Academia
Monday, December 4
Noon-1:00PM
Norwood 305

Mini Thesis/Dissertation Boot Camp
Friday, December 8
9:00AM-4:00PM
Library 203

Stress Relief
Wednesday, December 13
12:00PM-2:00PM
Toomey Atrium

 

*Programs marked with (+) are hosted by the Career Opportunities and Employer Relations (COER) office.  

*Programs marked with (*) are hosted by the Curtis Laws Wilson Library.

Graduating? Please take a moment to fill out the Career Outcomes Survey. ‌